This page uses Javascript. Your browser either doesn't support Javascript or you have it turned off. To see this page properly please use a Javascript enabled browser.


Past News Briefs


WHAT IS GOING ON WITH MOBILE HOME REGISTRATIONS AND DECALS?


WHAT IS GOING ON WITH MOBILE HOME REGISTRATIONS AND DECALS?


11/01/99 - BARTOW

There is a new law! The Florida Legislature passed a new law that went into effect this year regarding mobile home registrations and decals.

Q: Did the registration period or the fees change?

A: No. Under the new law, as in the past, mobile home registrations and decals are issued for a period of one year, January 1st through December 31st. Moreover, there has been no change in the fee charged for this twelve-month registration.

Q: So what is the difference?

A:The old law provided individuals with an extended grace period in which to renew their registrations and decals. This old grace period ended in the month following the actual registration period (January 31st). Under the new law the grace period was eliminated and individuals are now required to renew their registrations and decals on or before the expiration date of their registration (December 31st).

Q: Why did the Florida Legislature change the law?

A: A great deal of confusion existed under the old law because the old decal had been printed with the year-end date of the grace period, which fell in the same calendar year as the following registration period. Because the year-end date of the grace period was boldly printed on the decal many people wrongly assumed their expiring or expired registrations and decals were good for all of that same year. Unfortunately, this confusion led to countless penalties and fines.

Q: Are people losing time or money?

A: Because of the confusion over the grace period it might seem like people are losing a month of registration or one-twelfth of their annual registration fees. However, the actual registration period remains the same and the fees did not increase. So the real cost of the change in the law is that the mobile home owner is losing the ability to hold onto their fee money during a one-time event totaling 31 days. Therefore, the additional cost is really equal to the amount of interest an individual would have earned during the month of January in 2001. That means that an individual with an annual mobile registration renewal fee of $25.00, earning an 8% annual percentage rate in January 2001, would realize a one-time only adjustment of 2¢.

Q: Will the new law end all the confusion?

A: Not immediately. It will take about a year as there are two different sets of decals ending in "00" during this initial period of the legislative fix. There are green decals that are only valid through January 31, 2000 and white decals which are good for the January 1-December 31, 2000 registration period.

###


Back to Top ↑

Our Mission

"We are working to earn the public's trust and confidence by providing the best in customer service, assured quality and the efficient use of public funds."

Our Vision

"To treat our customers with such professionalism and concern that we change their perception of government."

Shared Values

Integrity
Innovation
Accountability
Compassion
Teamwork

Focus Points

Customer Service
Employee Well-Being
Efficiency
Accountability
Leadership