This page uses Javascript. Your browser either doesn't support Javascript or you have it turned off. To see this page properly please use a Javascript enabled browser.


Past News Briefs


News


DISABLED PARKING PERMIT REQUIREMENTS TO CHANGE


Legislation Calls For Documentation When Renewing

BARTOW, Florida/PR Free/July 24, 2012

If you have a blue permanent disabled parking permit, you need to be aware of the new requirements put in place by Florida lawmakers. The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles are implementing these new legal requirements now. More than 1.3 million Floridians currently have permanent blue disabled parking permits. The permanent permit is blue; the temporary permit is red.

Effective Oct. 1, any person issued a blue permanent disabled parking permit must renew their permit every four years and, when doing so, provide a certificate of disability completed and signed by a certifying medical authority within the last 12 months. That means every blue disabled parking permit holder will, at least every four years and within 12 months of the date of their renewal, fill out Form HSMV 83039. Permit holders will not have to pay a renewal fee.

In addition, effective July 1, if your blue permanent disabled parking permit is lost or stolen, a replacement will only be issued if you submit the same documentation required for renewals. The new law does not affect red (temporary) disabled parking permits, nor people who have disabled (wheelchair) license plates.

Under current Florida law, disabled parking permit holders must renew their parking permits every four years, but they do not have to submit a certificate of disability when renewing. They can renew online, by mail or by visiting a Tax Collector's office.

The legislation also directs DHSMV to receive incoming calls from the public who may report abuse of the use of permits. Calls should be placed to the DHSMV Service Center at (850) 617-3803.

The blue disabled parking permit with a current sticker must be visible from the front and rear of a motor vehicle. One side of the permit must display the applicant's driver license number or state identification card number. A warning on the card also states that the applicant must have such identification at all times while using the parking permit.

Illegally obtaining or using a permit can result in the loss of the parking permit and carries the potential for criminal penalties as outlined in Florida Statute 320.0848.

###


Back to Top ↑

Our Mission

"We are working to earn the public's trust and confidence by providing the best in customer service, assured quality and the efficient use of public funds."

Our Vision

"To treat our customers with such professionalism and concern that we change their perception of government."

Shared Values

Integrity
Innovation
Accountability
Compassion
Teamwork

Focus Points

Customer Service
Employee Well-Being
Efficiency
Accountability
Leadership