This page uses Javascript. Your browser either doesn't support Javascript or you have it turned off. To see this page properly please use a Javascript enabled browser.


  • Vessels Image

 Vessels (Boats)

Registrations, Renewals, and Title Transfers


Initial Registration


Residents operating their vessels (boats) on Florida's waters must register those vehicles in the State of Florida.

Non-residents must register their out-of-state vessels in Florida, if the vessel is used in Florida's waters more than 90 days.

Vessel registrations may be obtained at one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

To receive a vehicle registration the following item is required:

  • A registration renewal notice or previously issued registration. (If these are not available the FL number, title number or hull identification number may provide enough information.)
Back To Page Navigator


Registration Renewal


Click here to make an online payment.

Florida law requires vessel registrations to be renewed before they expire.

Florida vessel registrations expire as follows:

  • For vessels owned by individuals, the expiration date is the birthday of the first owner listed on the registration;
  • For company owned vessels, the expiration date is June 30th;

To renew, the following item is required:

  • Previous registration or registration renewal notice.

The Tax Collector provides renewal notices as a courtesy to resident vessel owners. The courtesy renewal notices are mailed approximately 3 weeks prior to the birth month or month in which the renewal is due.

The cost of renewing a registration and tag varies according to length of the vessel.

LENGTH FULL YEAR
Canoes Under 12' $15.50
12 '- 15'11'' $31.63
16' - 25'11'' $50.38
26' - 39'11'' $124.63
40' - 64'11'' $198.88
65' - 109'11'' $236.38
110' and over $291.88


Vessel registration and tag renewals may be conducted here..

Renewal payment transactions may also be conducted on this web site.

FEE REDUCTIONS


Section 328.72(18), Florida Statutes, provides for reduced vessel registration fees for a recreational vessel that is equipped with an Emergency Position-Indicating Radio Beacon (EPIRB) or for a recreational vessel when the owner owns a Personal Locator Beacon (PLB).

In order to qualify for reduced registration fees at the time of registration, a recreational vessel owner must provide documentation that the vessel is equipped with an EPIRB or documentation that the vessel owner has a PLB.

Acceptable proof would be:

  1. All EPIRBs and PLBs must be registered through the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). This should be done immediately after purchase.
  2. All EPIRBs and PLBs must be manufactured by a company approved to manufacture beacons by the International Cospas-Sarsat Programme. This information will be shown on the registration letter.
  3. After initial registration or renewal with NOAA, the recreational vessel owner will receive a proof of registration letter. This letter will include the additional proof necessary for beacon registration and a recreational vessel fee reduction. Additionally, the recreational vessel owner will receive a decal from NOAA by postal mail to affix to the beacon so it is clearly visible.


Additional proof for an EPIRB or a PLB must cover:

  1. The name of the beacon owner.
  2. The expiration date for the beacon’s registration.
  3. The unique identifier number (UIN) for the beacon. This is a 15-digit number, which is programmed into a 406 MHz beacon (EPIRB or PLB) by a manufacturer or installer. The UIN is part of the message transmitted by the beacon when activated. The UIN is also referred to as the Beacon ID in NOAA’s Registration Database.
  4. For vessels equipped with an EPIRB, the identification information of the vessel.
  5. Documentation that the EPIRB or PLB transmits distress signals at a frequency between 406.0and 406.1 Mhz. This will be shown on the registration letter.


Click here for Complete Vessel Registration & Titles Information

Click here for Facts for Florida Vessel Owners

Back To Page Navigator



Transfer Of Ownership On A Florida Title


When seeking to transfer ownership of a vessel in Florida, you must bring the following to any one of the Tax Collector's Offices:

  • The Florida title, properly completed by the seller.
  • Each applicant must be present to sign the new application for title or have completed title for transfer along with a Florida title application.
Note: Applicants may request a Fast Title for an additional $5. The title is provided by the Tax Collector's Office at the time of application. Fast Titles may be obtained at one of the Tax Collector's Offices.


Back To Page Navigator



Title Application On A New Vessel


If you have a vessel (new or used) purchased from a Florida dealership, the dealer usually processes the Application for Title.

If a new vessel from an out-of-state dealership has been purchased or a new Application for Title needs to be processed on a new vessel, you can process your application for title at one of the Tax Collector's Offices. .

Applications for Certificate of Title may be obtained and completed prior to visiting one of our Tax Collector's Offices.

Click here to retrieve the Application for Certificate of Title.

(Note: This form is made available through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website.)

The following items are needed in addition to a completed Application for Certificate of Title:

  • A manufacturer's certificate of origin;
  • A bill of sale or invoice listing the purchase price, sales tax paid, and any trade-in allowance (Please note additional sales tax may be due);
  • Any applicable lienholder information;
  • Also, each applicant must sign the application. (If completing an application in our office, each person applying for ownership must be present to sign the title application.)

Back To Page Navigator



Title Application On An Out-Of-State Vessel


When seeking to register a vessel that was previously titled out-of-state, an Application for Certificate of Title must be completed and submitted to a Tax Collector's Office. An Application for Certificate of Title may be obtained and completed prior to visiting one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

Click here to retrieve the Application for Certificate Of Title.

(Note: This form is made available through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website.)

The following items are also required:

  • The out-of-state title certificate in your name or assigned to you;
  • If your vessel is financed - complete lienholder information - including account number, lienholder name, and mailing address;
  • Each applicant must sign the application. (If completing an application in our office, each person applying for ownership must be present to sign the title application.)
  • Florida Use Tax may be due if the vehicle was purchased less than 6 months prior to importing the vehicle to Florida. Proof of any sales tax paid to another state will be required.
  • Also, the 6% Florida Use Tax and any applicable local option tax is due on all vehicles imported from foreign countries.


Back To Page Navigator