This page uses Javascript. Your browser either doesn't support Javascript or you have it turned off. To see this page properly please use a Javascript enabled browser.


Information for Disabled Persons

The Tax Collector's Office facilitates many types of transactions that benefit disabled persons.

To learn more about these transactions, please click on the following links:

    Disabled Person Placards (Permits) & License Plates

    Disabled Person Hunting And Fishing Licenses

    Local Business Tax Exemptions

    Property Tax Exemptions


Disabled Person Parking Placards (Permits) & License Plates


Long Term Disabled Person Parking Placards

A long-term disabled person parking placard is available to any individual with permanent mobility problems or those who are legally blind.

The disability must be certified by:
  • A Florida or out-of-state Physician;
  • Osteopathic Physician;
  • Podiatrist;
  • Chiropractor;
  • Optometrist;
  • The Florida Division of Blind Services;
  • The Adjudication Office of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs;
  • The U.S. Veterans Administration; or,
  • The Florida Department of Veterans Affairs.

A current application form with the completed certification is required for both the initial issuance and renewal of a disabled person parking placard. Only application forms revised after December 1996 or later may be accepted.

Disabled persons must have either a current Florida Driver License or a Florida Identification Card issued by the Florida Division of Driver Licenses.

Long-term permits are issued for a period of four years and expire on the disabled person’s birthday.

Individuals seeking the long-term parking placard must submit a completed application. There is no fee for a long-term disabled parking placard. Individuals are limited to two placards. Applications may be obtained at at one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

Click here to retrieve the Disabled Person Parking Placard Application.
(This form is made available through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website.)

Warning: Knowingly providing false information on an application to obtain a disabled parking placard is a misdemeanor of the first degree. The penalty for which is up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of $1,000.

Back To Page Navigator



Temporary Disabled Person Parking Placards

Temporary disabled person parking placards are available to any individual with a temporary disability.

The disability must be certified by:

  • A Florida or out-of-state physician;
  • Osteopathic Physician;
  • Chiropractor;
  • Optometrist;
  • The Florida Division of Blind Services; or,
  • The Adjudication Office of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

Individuals seeking the temporary parking placard must submit a completed application. The fee is $15. The permit may be valid as determined by your physician, not to exceed 1 year. (If an additional 6 months is needed after the original issuance, qualified individuals may obtain a second 6 month permit at no charge.) Applications may be obtained at one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

Click here to retrieve the Disabled Person Parking Placard Application.
(This form is made available through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website.)

Warning: Knowingly providing false information on an application to obtain a disabled parking placard is a misdemeanor of the first degree. The penalty for which is up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of $1,000.

Back To Page Navigator



Renewal Of Long Term Disabled Person Parking Placards

The Tax Collector's Office mails out renewal cards for permanent parking placards.

Effective October 1st, any person issued a blue permanent disabled parking permit must renew their permit every four years and, when doing so, provide a certificate of disability completed and have it signed by a certifying medical authority within the last 12 months. This means every blue disabled parking permit holder will, at least every four years and within 12 months of the date of their renewal, fill out Form HSMV 83039 and have it signed by a certifying medical authority within the last 12 months.

There is no fee for the renewal of a long-term disabled parking placard.

Renewals may also be conducted by mail or by visiting one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

If a renewal card is not received, qualified individuals may mail-in a request for the renewal or visit one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

The request should include the parking placard number(s).

Back To Page Navigator



Disabled Person Parking Tags

The Tax Collector's Office initially issues and replaces the Wheel Chair Symbol tag (license plate). Fees: $28 Original Plate Issue fee, the regular registration taxes due and $1.50 Plate Mail fee. These license plates may only be issued for use on the following types of vehicles: Automobiles for private use; trucks weighing 5,000 pounds or less; automobiles which seat under nine passengers and are for hire; and, motor homes or truck campers not for hire or commercial use.

In addition to regular registration requirements, proof of eligibility that the applicant is permanently confined to a wheelchair or qualifies for a long term Disabled Person Parking Placard must be submitted in one of the following forms: The physician's statement certifying permanent confinement to a wheelchair; or, a statement on letterhead stationary from any physician licensed to practice in the United States stating that the applicant is permanently confined to a wheelchair; or, a completed HSMV 83039 form.

Click her to access HSMV 83039 form (in PDF). |Get Adobe Reader|

To obtain the application, please contact the Tax Collector's Office by email Mail@PolkTaxes.com, written correspondence, telephone or visit one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

Back To Page Navigator


Disabled Person Hunting And Fishing Licenses


DISABLED PERSON PRIVILEGES

A disabled person who is a resident of the State of Florida may apply for a resident disability hunting and fishing license from one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

To qualify for a resident disability hunting and fishing license, a disabled person must present proof of residency and a certification of total permanent disability by the U.S. Veterans Administration (VA), any branch of the Armed Services, or a Notice of Award from the Social Security Administration (SSA) for Supplemental Security Income or Supplemental Security Disability Income Benefits.

The telephone number for the VA Service Office in Polk County is (863) 534-5220. The toll free telephone number for the SSA is (800) 772-1213.

To qualify for any resident hunting and fishing license proof of residency is required. You must provide date of birth along with any one of the following for proof of residency:

  • Florida DL Number (Florida ID not acceptable)
  • Customer ID Number (number already in TLS system)
  • Social Security Number & FL Homestead Exemption
  • Social Security Number & FL Voter Registration
  • Social Security Number & FL Landlord Certification
  • Social Security Number & FL Military Orders
  • Social Security Number & FL Student ID Card - 18 or Under
  • Social Security Number & Parents Proof of Residency

    Note: Non-resident hunting and fishing licenses may be purchased by anyone.

A resident disability hunting and fishing license authorizes the holder to take or attempt to take or possess freshwater fish, marine fish, and game consistent with state and federal regulations.

Holders of a disability hunting and fishing license are exempt from permit requirements, including the no-cost migratory bird permit, and from making application for most quota hunt permits to hunt on a wildlife management area.

A disability license does not allow the holder those privileges found in the commercial fishing license, commercial or state trapping license, antlerless deer permits, or the federal waterfowl stamp. A disabled person wishing to participate in these activities must also acquire the required permits for each of these activities.

All disability licenses, including replacement licenses, issued after January 1, 1997, will expire five years from the date of issuance and are no longer valid if the holder moves out of the State of Florida.

Back To Page Navigator

Local Business Tax Exemptions


Click here to search County Local Business Tax records.

The State of Florida and the Polk County Board of County Commissioners (BoCC) do provide for some exemptions regarding County Local Business Tax requirements. For more information on exemptions, please refer to the following information.

Exemption Sought for County Local Business Tax Receipt Requirement

To obtain an exemption with the issuance of an original Polk County Local Business Tax Receipt, please provide a written request for the specific exemption sought (see the List of Exemptions provided below).

If documentation is required to be submitted for consideration of the exemption request, please attach the required documentation to the written request.

If the exemption request is being made with regard to the issuance of an original Polk County Local Business Tax Receipt, please include a completed County Local Business Tax Account Application Form.

If an exemption is denied, the application will be returned to the applicant along with an explanation for the denial and further instructions on how to obtain a Local County Business Tax Receipt. County Local Business Tax Receipts with exemptions may also be obtained, under the same criteria set forth above, at one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

Exemption Sought From Current Tax Receipt Holder

If the holder of a current Polk County Local Business Tax Receipt seeks an exemption, they must provide a written request for the specific exemption they are seeking (see the List of Exemptions provided below). If documentation is required to be submitted for consideration of the request, please attach the required documentation to the written request.

With the written request, please include the Polk County Local Business Tax Account Number.

If an exemption is approved, the exemption will be applied for the following Polk County Local Business Tax Receipt tax year and every year thereafter until a status change is reported to the Tax Collector's Office. If an exemption is denied, the Polk County Local Business Tax Receipt Holder will be notified along with an explanation for the denial.

Polk County Local Business Tax Receipts may also be amended to include exemptions, under the same criteria provided above, at one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

For more information on exemptions, please refer to F.S. 205 of the Florida Statutes and/or the Polk County Local Business Tax Ordinance (in PDF). |Get Adobe Reader|

LIST OF EXEMPTIONS
(Consult the Florida Statutes and County Ordinance for details on each of the following exemptions)
SENIOR CITIZEN - Tax Receipt Issued - No Charge - This exemption is available to sole proprietors (individuals) upon providing personal identification indicating the applicant is sixty-five (65) years of age or older.

DISABLED PERSON - Tax Receipt Issued - No Charge - This exemption is available to sole proprietors (individuals) upon providing personal identification and one or more of the following items: A disabled person parking placards; vehicle registration renewal notice indicating disabled person tag, disabled person property tax exemption, disabled person hunting license, disabled person fishing license, and/or certification from a reputable physician stating that the applicant is disabled.

DISABLED VETERAN - Tax Receipt Issued - No Charge - This exemption is available to sole proprietors (individuals) who qualify for a Disabled Person exemption and also provide proof of an honorable discharge from the U.S. Armed Forces.

WIDOW(ER) WITH MINOR DEPENDENT(S) - Tax Receipt Issued - No Charge - This exemption is available to sole proprietors (individuals) upon providing personal identification, proof of a deceased spouse, and at least one minor dependent (child under the age of eighteen).

WIDOW(ER) DECEASED DISABLED VETERAN - Tax Receipt Issued - No Charge - This exemption is available to sole proprietors (individuals) who can demonstrate they are the unremarried spouse of a deceased disabled veteran of any war in which the U.S. Armed forces participated.

BONA FIDE EMPLOYEE - Tax Receipt Not Required - No Charge - An individual who is only an employee of a business operating in Polk County is not required to obtain their own local business tax receipt. Note: Generally bona fide employees receive W-4 IRS statements from their employers. However, in Polk County, individuals that only perform the services of a state licensed real estate broker associate or sales associate are also considered to be bona fide employees.

AGRICULTURAL - Tax Receipt Not Required - All farm, grove, horticultural, floricultural, tropical, piscicultural, and tropical fish farm products manufactured therefrom shall be exempt from all local business taxes when the same is being offered for sale or sold by the farmer or grower producing said products.

RELIGIOUS - Tax Receipt Not Required - Generally no local business tax receipt is required for practicing the religious tenants of any church.

CHARITABLE - Tax Receipt Not Required - Generally no local business tax receipt is required of any charitable, religious, fraternal, youth, civic, service, or other such organization engaged in non-profit or not-for-profit activities.

YOUTH - Tax Receipt Not Required - All persons eighteen (18) years of age or younger or those persons less than twenty (20) years of age who are enrolled full-time in a daytime high school program in Polk County and who are acting as a sole proprietorship with no persons in their employment shall be exempt from the provisions of this Ordinance.

Note: Exemptions generally do not apply to those who sell intoxicating liquors, etc. or those who operate gaming devices. Also, the local business tax receipt issued with an exemption will indicate exempt status and are not transferable.


Click here for information on the Tax Collector's Office.

Back To Page Navigator
Property Appraiser's Office

Property Tax Exemptions



The Property Appraiser is responsible for property tax exemptions, such as:
  • Homestead Exemptions
  • Widow and Widower Exemptions
  • Disability Exemptions
First-time applications for homestead, widow and widower, or disability exemptions must be filed with the Property Appraiser's Office by March 1st of the tax year. After that, all exemptions are automatically renewed; you need not reapply.

You must notify the Property Appraiser when you no longer qualify for any of the exemptions.

About The Property Appraiser

In addition to exemptions, the Property Appraiser is responsible for the preparation of the current ad valorem taxroll assessed value of property, taxable value, assessed owner’s name and address, including address changes; and, the legal description of property.
 
Note: If property taxpayers have a mailing address change, the Property Appraiser advises they complete and submit a National Change of Address form available at any U.S. Post Office or Go to USPS Website and complete Online Address Change Form.

For more information on these subjects, please visit the Property Appraiser's Office website.

Back To Page Navigator